Gang Starr – Hard To Earn LP.

Gang Starr – Hard To Earn. LP.

Hip Hop Pioneers.

Gang Starr are one of the great groups of hip hop. The group has undergone several lineup changes in its lifetime but will be best remembered by most of us for the one that brought together DJ Premier with founder member MC Guru.

Throughout the 1990’s Gang Starr released some incredible records and pioneered the fusion of hip hop and jazz. One of the best known tracks in this style is their amazing cut ‘Jazz Thing’, which featured on the soundtrack for the Spike Lee produced film Mo’ Better Blues.

Gang Starr collaborated with various artists during this period, often as members of the Gang Starr Foundation and featured several of these rappers and musicians on their Hard To Earn album.

Singles taken from the album include Mass Appeal and DWYCK featuring New York rappers Nice & Smooth.

At the same time, Guru was releasing many critically acclaimed records as a solo artist, most famously his Jazzmatazz series. He continued releasing music until his untimely death in 2010.

Album Tracks.


Gang Starr – The Planet.

Gang Starr – DWYCK.

Gang Starr – Mass Appeal. Official music video.

Gang Starr – Now You’re Mine.

Full Album Playlist.

Gang Starr – Hard To Earn. Full album playlist.

If you like this LP you might also like this classic hip hop record from N.W.A.

Hard To Earn Tracklisting.

  1. Intro (The First Step)
  2. Alongwaytogo
  3. Code Of The Streets
  4. Brainstorm
  5. Tonz ‘O’ Gunz
  6. The Planet
  7. Aiiight Chill…
  8. Speak Ya Clout featuring Jeru The Damaja, Lil Dap
  9. DWYC featuring Nice & Smooth
  10. Words From The Nutcracker featuring Melachi The Nutcracker
  11. Mass Appeal
  12. Blowin’ Up The Spot
  13. Suckas Need Bodyguards
  14. Now You’re Mine
  15. Mostly Tha Voice
  16. F.A.L.A. featuring – Big Shug
  17. Comin’ For Datazz

Find your copy of Hard To Earn on Discogs.

Listen to this album and other hip-hop classics on our Spotify Playlists.